history-phase-1 In 1938 the Catholics of Kodihalli, Murugeshpalya and HAL used to attend Sunday mass at O.L. of Lourdes Church, Ulsoor. In 1956 HAL was separated from Ulsoor parish and St. Thomas Church was built for all the people of Kodihalli, Murugeshpalya and XXXX in HAL area. For the past 25 years the Holy Mass was being celebrated at Cheshire home on Airport Road for the inmates of Cheshire Home only and later for the faithful from aforesaid locations by the Fathers of Kristu Jyothi College from K.R. Puram, Bangalore. We acknowledge with thanks the authorities of Cheshire Home for their goodwill and generosity to allow our brethren to worship the Lord in their premises.

Nearly 400 people used to attend Sunday mass there 90% whom used to stand in the corridors too. On seeing the devotees' plight Col. Lobo went to, Rev. Fr. Irudayam the then Parish Priest of St. Thomas Church HAL and convinced him of the need of a separate place of worship for the devotees. Both appraised the then Archbishop of Bangalore, His Grace, Most Rev. Dr. Alphonse Mathias on the issue. Then a Community Hall Building Committee was formed comprised of the following:
President: Rev. Fr. Irudayam
Secretary: Col Lobo (Murugeshpalya)
Treasurer: Mr. Louis (JMJ)
Members: Mr. Sylvester (Murugeshpalya), Mr. Sebastian TM (Kodihalli), Mr. Paul Almeda (JMJ), Mr. Peter Almeda (JMJ), & Mr. Lawrence D'Souza (Domlur).

Many places were selected but not approved by His Grace. Finally, a place of 100'X110' sqft was found by the then Vicar General Monsignor T Jabamalai and that was purchased by the archbishop's House.

On the great urgency that arose subsequently, the construction of the Community Hall was given a kick start in the site on which stands the present lower building. This became possible by then archbishop, His Grace, Most Rev Ignatius Pinto. By keen interest of the Vicar General, the hall construction was complete quickly in a very short period of five months with funds raised from the people and the rest by the archdiocese. Of course the Koch Foundation too helped us with rupees ten lakh, five lakh from people and another 5 lakh from another source.

In the year 2002, the community hall was inaugurated by his Grace, Most Rev Dr Ignatius Pinto with great joy and fervor among the community here in Rustam Bagh. Thereafter, as usual every Sunday the Mass was celebrated by Rev.Fr T V Mathew of Kristu Jyothi Collge who also accompanied the committee in collection of donations for the construction of Community Hall.

On the dire need of daily Mass the archbishop requested the Holy Cross Fathers to take care of the daily Mass They took very keen interest in celebrating the daily Mass for us and Rev.Fr Joseph Gaspar was assigned with this task. After sometime this assignment was withdrawn from the Holy Cross fathers

In order to find a permanent solution to the problem of celebrating daily Mass, it was decided by the archbishop to separate St.Peter's from St Thomas Parish and in the year 2002, St.Peter's Church, Rustambagh was erected as a separate parish. Rev Fr. Joseph Francis of St Peter's Seminary Professor was appointed first parish priest of this church on 29.6.2002. He used to come all the way from Malleshwaram on his motorbike to celebrate Mass here after which he had to return to the seminary. He performed his pastoral duties very seriously and honestly and earned the love and affection of the people here. Thereafter the following priests were appointed as the Parish Priests of St Peter's Church, Rustam Bagh.

• Rev Fr. Jerome Rego (6.6.2004 - 2005)
• Rev Fr. Adolf Washington (19.6.2005 - 2008)
• Rev Fr. J. Arokia Nathan (17.6.2008 - date)

The committee and all parishioners heartily thank:
1. Most Rev Dr. Alphonse Mathias,
2. His Grace, Most Rev Dr. Ignatius Pinto,
3. VG Monsignor T. Jabamalai,
The Cheshire Home authorities specially Mrs. Everts,
5. Fr. T. V. Mathew SDB,
6. Fr. Irudayam,
7. Fr. Martin Kumar the then Parish Priest of Infant Jesus Shrine for having donated 18 benches for our church that were collected by Col. Lobo and Mr. Sylvester
8. Fr. Joseph Francis,

9. Fr. Jerome Rego who gave us old teakwood logs for church that were collected by Col Lobo, Mr. Sylvester and Mr. Sebastian T M
10. Fr. Adolf Washington, who was young and energetic for all his initial attempts to mobilize funds for the construction of the new church and for various legal assistance
11. All donors and well-wishers who in one way or other contributed a great lot towards the building up of the old building and spiritual welfare of this parish for a period of time.
12. Fr. J. Arokianathan for the steps he has taken in realizing the long awaited new church whose history you will read in the article that follows this write up.
13. We also like to thank the existing Parish Pastoral Council and the present New Church Building Committee for providing requisite support for the project.

By Col.J.M.Lobo,

(Community Hall Building Committee)